Colaiste Choilm’s historic run comes to an end as Naas CBS are crowned Leinster champions

Colaiste Choilm’s historic run comes to an end as Naas CBS are crowned Leinster champions

Leinster Senior Schools A Final

Naas CBS: 1-12

Colaiste Choilm: 0-10

Ronan Cleary at Donaghmore Ashbourne GAA, Meath.

Defeat for Colaiste Choilm saw Naas CBS crowned Br. Bosco Cup champions for the third year running. It’s heartbreak for Coláiste Choilm but this team and the entire school can hold their heads high with completing history for the school and showing determination and skill to reach this far in the Br. Bosco Cup.

The game roared into action after 3 minutes of play, when Naas’s Cian O’Reilly put over his first of the day with a brilliant point from play. Naas doubled their lead, only two minutes after their last when Tom Kelly put the ball between the upright after a foul from Coláiste Choilm to award Naas the free. Tom Kelly showed his magic again with another score straight after his last, from play to give Naas a 3-point lead in the opening 6 minutes of the first half.

Ryan Kenny gave Coláiste Choilm their first score of the day, scoring from a free to close in on Naas’s lead. Tom Kelly was again the player to extend the Naas CBS lead as he put the ball over the bar from a close range free. Coláiste Choilm was not shy about responding as on the 13th minute, Ryan Kenny scored his second point from a free to put Coláiste Choilm within two points of Naas CBS.

Thirteen minutes remaining of the first half, it was Coláiste Choilm and Ryan Kenny's third score, again from a free to leave only a one-point gap between Coláiste Choilm and Naas. Naas scored three points in five minutes towards the end of the first half to put themselves in the driving seat. Coláiste Choilm knew they needed something to close in on Naas’s lead before half-time and it was Cian Bracken who delivered after he was awarded a free as he calmly placed the ball over the bar to leave the half time score as Naas CBS 0-07 - Coláiste Choilm 0-04.

The second half started rapidly, with Cian Bracken scoring a point straight away, from play to put the gap between Coláiste Choilm and Naas to only two points. Naas didn’t take long to extend their lead after Bracken’s score with beautiful build up play from their forwards as they fisted the ball over the bar to give Coláiste Choilm a higher mountain to climb.

Cillian Bourke put his first over the bar in the match as he worked a fantastic point from play for Coláiste Choilm. Naas CBS replied with another score from 45 yards out to again extend their lead to 3 points.

With 19 minutes of play remaining, Cian Bracken converted from a free to give Coláiste Choilm hope for the vital remainder of play that was ahead. Cian Bracken was next to score again for Coláiste Choilm, fisting the ball between the two posts to crawl upon Naas CBS’s lead with only a point separating the schools.

As the last 10 minutes approached, Ryan Kenny used his skill to put the ball over the bar from a free to equalize the game. Naas CBS only took a minute to once again put themselves in front as they scored again from play. Naas extended their lead to two points, this time from a free as the clock approached the final minutes of the game.

Naas CBS sealed the victory with a goal scored from Rob Murray after Kavanagh made a vital save only moments before, as additional time was announced, 5 points was the difference between Naas CBS and Coláiste Choilm.

The men in red and blue were not ready to give up just yet as Kenny converted another free from close-range. It wasn’t enough though as Naas CBS put the last score of the match over the bar, as Referee David Sweeney blew his whistle, Naas CBS players, management and supporters jumped into delight while the hearts of the Coláiste Choilm panel were shattered from defeat.

A fantastic display from Naas CBS as they proved their worth to be crowned Br. Bosco Cup champions. No person can take anything away from this Coláiste Choilm team and management. They showed resilience from start to finish and created history becoming the first Coláiste Choilm team to reach this stage of the Br. Bosco Cup. A brave and skilful group of players led by captain Steven Doran should be nothing but proud of how far they have come.

Man Of the Match: Cian Bracken (Colaiste Choilm Tullamore) Both sides had a number of players who showed their excellence today with Naas CBS’s Tom Kelly was massive in Nass’s victory scoring 7 points. Coláiste Choilm had a number of super performers with Sean Kavanagh making crucial saves in the net and Ryan Kenny converting four frees. In my opinion, it’s Cian Bracken of Coláiste Choilm who is my man of the match. Bracken scored 5 vital points to keep Coláiste Choilm in the game and took his chances when they came.

Colaiste Choilm: Sean Kavanagh, Peter McKeagney, John Colgan, Tadgh Kelly, Aaron Rattigan, Patrick Kenna, David O’Rourke, Cillian Bourke (0-01), Eoin Dunne, Dara Bates, Niall Furlong, Davin Keegan, Steven Doran (Captain), Ryan Kenny (0-04), Cian Bracken (0-05).

Subs – Eoin Rouse for Dara Bates, Cormac Whittle for Davin Keegan, Shane Horkan for Steven Doran.

Naas CBS: Charlie Carroll, Niall Cramer, Brian Hoctor, Matthew Kelly, Rob Murray (1-00), Cathal McCarthy, Jamie McGuirk, Cian O’Reilly, Liam O’Connor (0-01), Alex Lenehan, Tom Kelly (0-07), Daniel Hamill (0-01), Ferdia O’Domhnaill, AJ Jordan, Evan Gilmartin (0-01),

Subs – Daire Gilmartin (0-01) for Kelly, Dara Cooke (0-01) for Lenehan, Jack Kelly for AJ Jordan, Owen Thompson for Ferdia O’Domhnaill.

Referee: David Sweeney.

Up Next: Naas CBS advance into the All-Ireland Semi Final as Coláiste Choilm's year is over.

27 2024
1st Year Students
28 2024
1st, 2nd & 3rd Year Students
29 2024
1st, 2nd, 3rd, LC1 & LC2 Students
02 2024
Transition Year
03 2024
1st Year Information Evening for Parents
Coláiste Choilm
O'Moore St.
Co Offaly
R35 WF97

057 93 51756

© 2024 Coláiste Choilm Tullamore